An Update

Hi, it’s me again!

First off, I’m so sorry that I kind of just… vanished. Last year was very tough for me mentally and I have many other preoccupations to worry about. Translating c-novels was a hobby I picked up for fun and experience, but at one point everything became a little too much to juggle all at once, so I had to set it aside. Again, very uncool of me to just log out of this blog and not say a word, but mental health makes you do unpredictable things, who knew 😅

Anyway, that’s enough lamenting since I know you didn’t click on this post for that. The main purpose of this is to give you some run-downs on the status of all of my current (and possibly coming) projects.

  • Regarding Faraway Wanderers and Lord Seventh: I have decided to drop these two, since they have been picked up by others and their updates are definitely more quality and frequent. I love these two novels (FW is one of my all-time favorites, in fact), and I’m so glad their translations were continued during my hiatus. You can continue reading FW here, and LS here (ch6+7) and here (ch8 onward). I will add all the links to my table of content too, for easy access.
  • Regarding Han Shan, I’m a little torn. It has been picked up very recently, and the team is also translating the audio drama which is awesome; but this novel is also a favorite of mine, and it’s a little harder to part ways with it since I’m currently rereading and falling in love with it all over again. Therefore, I’m putting the decision in your hands: If there’s still an interest in my (amateurish, unpolished) version, I will continue it, albeit very slowly like before. If there isn’t, you can read the other team’s work, so all in all it’s still a win for you!
  • Regarding future projects: Since two of my mains are now dropped, I’m currently choosing another novel to pick up as my major focus. 酌鹿 (Deer Glass Deliberation) has been on my radar for a while (quick review: very interesting fantasy world, plot and characters are quite average but there’s a certain charm to it), and recently I’m reading 封刀 (Sealing Sword) and is very intrigued by it, so those two will be my potential new big projects. Picking Actor Extraordinaire back up again is also a possibility as no one continued my translation and modern novels are relatively easier to work with. Furthermore, I’m eyeing a baihe (girl’s love/wlw) novel at the moment, since there’s an outrageous shortage of them translated compared to danmei; 鱼龙符 (Fish-Dragon Talisman) is on my to-read list, so if I ever get around to and like it, I will pick it up too – we always need to spread more girls-loving-girls appreciation! 🌈

And that’s it, really. If you’re still reading this: Thank you so much for your comments and support, they’re one of the main reasons why I keep coming back to translating ❤️ I hope you are having a good day and taking care of yourself amidst the current situation going on in the world.

7 thoughts on “An Update

  1. Zo Arai

    I’m actually upset about Faraway Wanderers because they’re posting it on Google Drive, thus making it difficult for reading in cellphone.
    Also true regarding Han Shan.
    So I wish you would still continue Han Shan.
    I really like your translation anyway.

    And don’t worry about your hiatus, real life is always important.
    Even more so mental health.
    I’m glad you’re back and giving us an update about your whereabouts.
    Thank you ❤️
    I hope you’ll stay healthy and safe during this time.
    No need to rush on anything.
    Just go on your pace.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. iefh_ua_

    Whoa~ Welcome back. If you have much more time, I would like you to work on Han Shan again >~< I’ll be waiting to your new novels as well~!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. ichijouji

    Welcome back! I thought your translations of Faraway Wanderers and Lord Seventh were excellent, although I was also glad to see them picked up in your absence, and it was definitely for the best for you to take a break from translating for your own mental health! I hope you’re doing at least a little better now!

    I’m definitely interested in Han Shan, but I think you should translate whatever you most want to translate! I also definitely agree that we need more baihe translation though, haha, I feel like theres only barely a handful of translations of GL to choose from right now. So if you were to find a good one that you were excited to share I think I would be most excited for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Navleu

    Good to know!! It’s great you’re fine and healthy.

    I’ve been waiting for your FW’s translation, but It’s cool someone else is doing it so you can focus in other projects. Whatever you decide to translate, I Will read it.

    Thanks for your Hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. 嗎零

    ‘Regarding Faraway Wanderers and Lord Seventh: I have decided to drop these two, since they have been picked up by others and their updates are definitely more quality and frequent. ‘

    I’m sad… Your ‘Faraway Wanderers’ translation was definitely the best out there.

    ‘Regarding Han Shan, I’m a little torn. It has been picked up very recently, and the team is also translating the audio drama which is awesome; but this novel is also a favorite of mine, and it’s a little harder to part ways with it since I’m currently rereading and falling in love with it all over again. Therefore, I’m putting the decision in your hands: If there’s still an interest in my (amateurish, unpolished) version, I will continue it, albeit very slowly like before. If there isn’t, you can read the other team’s work, so all in all it’s still a win for you!’

    What about you contact the translator? They are very approachable. I think they only picked up the novel as it was impossible to contact you… Maybe you could do something like sharing the translation work between the two of you?

    Like

    Reply
  6. Natiz15

    Aaaaaa, WELCOME BACK! I was deeply hoping you were okay, it was so sudden. Hope you are doing fine now, and I’m looking forward to reading you in your new projects! Is there any possibility you would reconsider picking up (again) Lord Seventh? Actual translation, albeit I’m very thankful for it, is a Vietnamese retranslation, and I think a lot of nuance stays behind! Some paragraphs and descriptions appear kinda off too, and I really want to grasp the whole politics plot but it’s hard with such prose. Thank you! Will be waiting for you >~<

    PS/ Same @ that person above. I’m extremely sad about Faraway Wanderers. Reading that gdoc, with a bunch of chapters in One (1) doc is sooo difficult and annoying. Also, all that pinyin’ing makes me dizzy. I liked your translation a way more, it was really smooth and had an amazing English flow </3

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment